Any Way to Bypass a Bad Starter Motor, In General (Non-Titan) - Nissan Titan Forum
Off-Topic Discussion Discussion of Off-Topic items.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 03-11-2010, 12:03 PM

iTrader Score: 4 reviews
Any Way to Bypass a Bad Starter Motor, In General (Non-Titan)

Hi Gents

I am a shadetree mechanic at best.

In general, is there anyway to bypass a bad starter motor on a car. I've got a tank to move around ('97 Crown Victoria with armor plating), but I only need it to start a few times before it gets scrapped.

Replacing the starter motor (specifically getting to all three bolts) "properly" is not an option due to massive salt corrosion, the PITA specialty tools socket adaptors needed to get to one of the bolts, and my general lack of interest in buying more tools and taking a weekend to figure this out (all while knowing the starter might not be on the only problem with the car).

So lets say I only need to drive the car in and around a parking lot a few times. Can I get a new starter, bolt it to the hood, and run some longer wires (somehow just clipping the other ones)?

TOW-4X: '06 KC 4x4 BT (Build in Progress)
MODS: 08' Springs/5100s, JBA LT, 08' Brakes, PML diff/tranny, Tranny Bypas Cooler, '08 Shackles, Prodigy, PRO-4x Wheels, Custom Horse/Car Trailer

JBA Header Install by CIN Motorsports in Charlotte.

SOLD: '05 CC 4x4 BT PIX
MODS: Icons, 08' Springs/5100s, PML diff, PRG Shackles, B&W Gooseneck Hitch, Prodigy, Airbags, 20x10 BMF Novakanes, Cooper Zeon LTZs
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 03-11-2010, 12:09 PM

Thanked 1,931 Times in 1,415 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Re: Any Way to Bypass a Bad Starter Motor, In General (Non-Titan)

Good luck, I don't know of any way to do it and neither does this guy but he has a good explanation of why not.