Nissan Titan Forum banner

New Member - Transforming my 05 from Ghetto Blaster to Race Tow Rig

9K views 57 replies 26 participants last post by  markandjanene 
#1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone,

Starting this thread to document the evolution of my new rig. Thanks to all for sharing your information and guidance over the years. I'm a veteran on the BMW forums and have been searching/scanning this site for the past few months considering my options. I'm finally getting back into racing and have been building up my next car over the past year. We have some really competitive spec classes in the NW with BMWs, Miatas and more. Pro3 racing (BMW E30s 1984-92) is one of the most well organized and has a stable of over 70 cars with 20+ consistently coming out over the 14 race season across the tri-state area and Canada. During the last Historics race we fielded 36! Keep in mind, this is a spec class so every car is roughly ~90-99% identical.

Getting back into this required some compromises though. Mine was a pretty big one. The wife and I made a deal that I could do this but couldn't have more than one vehicle outside of the race car. This meant my beloved 2006 M5 had to go.
Long story short: I sold my M5 for my Titan.

So why the Titan specifically?
Its probably the most practical badass truck I've found comparable to how badass and practical my M5 was. I need to be able to sit 4 of us comfortably, tow 8,000lbs total with the race trailer and have it last. I already know about the Duratecs/PSD/Cummins argument and have been there done that. I admire diesels, I don't desire to own another. The Titan was the perfect compromise for daily driving, usability and towing -- not including the previously mentioned badassedry.

So what'd I get?
2005 Nissan Titan LE
66k Miles
Red Alert on Gray
No Navigation or Sunroof
Rockford Fosgate Stereo - this will get ripped out
and Chrome seemingly everywhere
It came with 24s.
<--repeat-->
It came with completely over the top Chrome 24s.