How to clean the MAF sensor - Nissan Titan Forum
Titan General Discussion General Discussion about the Nissan Titan.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 04-02-2009, 06:08 PM

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
How to clean the MAF sensor

I am looking for directions on how to clean the MAF sensor on my 05 Titan LE.

I am having rough idles that sometimes cause the motor to die. It only happens when stopped or LOW rpms, but when driving down the road never has a problem.

The rough idle causes the truck to shake and giving it gas seems to make it go away.

I am looking for ideas. The code I got from the shop they said it was generic and could be 1 of 14 things. They said the PCV valve was dirty and replaced it, and that didnt help.

The other suggestions with the error code was bad plugs, electrical stuff, etc.

Im thinking even being a noob I can probably clean the MAF sensor (read about it on here) and do the plugs, and maybe do the ipdm install if needed.

Any thoughts on the problem, directions on cleaning the MAF sensor, or a place to order a new ipdm is greatly appreciated!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 04-02-2009, 06:32 PM

Re: How to clean the MAF sensor

Also, any suggestions on what new plugs to put in my 05 titan?
#3 (permalink) Old 04-02-2009, 06:36 PM

iTrader Score: 3 reviews

Unscrew the sensor and spray lightly with CRC Brand MAF Sensor Cleaner. It is in a green can I think. Most autoparts stores have it now. Cost is about $4 or 5. Gently shake it a little bit and let it dry a minute. Reinstall. Do not touch the sensor insides!