Nissan Titan Forum banner

Towing TT Question

6K views 56 replies 15 participants last post by  04whtLE 
#1 ·
I try to avoid the newbie questions here, but I'm new to pulling a travel trailer. Normally the landscaping trailers I have pulled are 18-22 feet. So here goes:

I'm going to Bonnaroo next week with a couple of friends. We have rented a travel trailer to camp in while we are there. I'm picking it up in Nashville and taking it down to Manchester, TN for the festival. One of the other guys rented it and volunteered me to pull it since I'm the only one with a truck. Lucky me! Link below is the same model trailer that I will be towing. It is 37 ft long, dry weight is 6713 lbs, hitch weight is 865 lbs. I will be using a WD hitch. My truck is rated for 923 lbs tongue weight & 9,230 lbs. Anyone see any issues with it or words of advice?

I do have access to a 2017 Titan XD with the Cummins if I need it. That's rated for 1,203 lbs tongue weight & 12,030 lbs. I'd rather not borrow it unless I have to though.

New 2017 Keystone RV Bullet 335BHS Travel Trailer at PleasureLand RV | St Cloud, MN | #1060-16

#2 ·
The tail would wag the dog pulling that one. It would be sketchy at best. You would be maxed out completely. No passengers, gear, beer.... I would go for the bigger truck, and it will be plenty for it...

#3 ·
that is a long *** trailer, wagging the dog is about right.

#4 · (Edited)
Yeah the length is what worries me more than anything. I was hoping for one under 25' or so, not this monstrosity. Probably smarter to just swap out with the XD for the trip.

This weight distribution hitch that I'll be using for the trip has the anti sway bars as well, so hopefully that will help out.

#6 ·
WwaThat is way too much trailer for a Titan. That will be a white knuckle drive. Borrow the XD.

#7 ·