Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2018 Titan rolled backwards while parked and it just started doing that. I bought this car brand new and had it for about 2.5 years. It only has 15K miles. The first time it rolled backwards I was in it. I parked and it rolled backwards about 2-3 feet. The ground was covered with a little bit of snow. The snow had just started. I have parked it in the snow before and has never done that.The second time I parked it in my driveway and I came out in the morning and the car had rolled at the end of my driveway. I brought it to the dealership and they’re telling me to use my parking brakes when I park the car, which I have never done before and I didn’t have any issue. Another thing they said is to change my tires, due to the tread depth being at 4/30. But the tires weren’t a problem before because the vehicle rolls down it doesn’t slip. The dealership also advised me to put it in 4wd when parked. I never used the parking brakes when I parked my car. My driveway is not a hill its a slope about 8 to10% degree angle. I also videotaped it 3 times while putting the car in parked, the ground had slush and you can see that the car rolls backwards about 4-5 feet. I’m asking to see if anyone has had the same problem. I appreciate any feedback.

·
Registered
3,364 Posts
Sounds like parking without using the parking brake has caused you to break the pawl off which normally holds the truck without letting the wheels roll when in park. The real answer is to get your trans fixed and figure out the parking brake use.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sounds like parking without using the parking brake has caused you to break the pawl off which normally holds the truck without letting the wheels roll when in park. The real answer is to get your trans fixed and figure out the parking brake use.