Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys...I'm new to this forum and have some questions. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I am a complete novice when it comes to many things towing related, so here goes.

I've got a 2004 Titan LE King Cab 4X2 with Big Tow. From what I've read, my towing capacity is 9200#

I currently pull a boat/trailer that weighs about 4300# with no issues.

I'm looking at upgrading boats to a Crownline 270BR...it is a big boat and has a dry weight of 5500#. I'm guessing the trailer will be around 1900#. That puts me at 7400# without fuel, coolers, etc...

When I go to the lake I typically bring along a full truck of adults (5). Typically the truck has 2 guys and 3 petite ladies

My question is, with a truck that is full of gas and 5 adults am I going to have major issues pulling this boat? Would I need any upgrades to my truck to make this safer? Would a weight distribution hitch help? Different tires?
I'm guessing tongue weight is around 400-600lbs???

Does anyone consistently pull a boat this size in and out of the water on a typical steep boat ramp? How does it do?

HELP HELP HELP!!!!

Like I said, I currently pull a 21 Foot BAJA and I hardly know it is back there.

·
Registered
34,397 Posts
Welcome Titantalk!! That Crownline is a nice boat!! I've been looking at a new crownline to replace my Vip.

I think you will OK with the weight. I would suggest a WD hitch though. The other thing you might consider is a Tru-track upgrade. That way if you start slipping on the ramp, you can have both will turning instead of just one. Does the new trailer have brakes??

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What is tru-track..and what will it cost me? Like I said, I'm a complete novice! I believe the boat has surge disc brakes

Thanks for the reply

·
Registered
34,397 Posts
tlembke said: