Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my 18 inch Magnaflow Muffler for about a month now and i noticed a strange sound the other day when i had the rear window open; since it was finally nice enough here in Reno to have the windows down.
I have the 18 inch muffler wih the stock pipes, and it sounds great at low RPM's, however when i get on the gas i hear a clicking/ Rattling noise. I'm thinking about taking it in where i got it installed and having them check the welds and possible replacing the hanger, but i wanted to know if anyone else had this problem and if it's just what the muffler does? I'm no expert. I searched other threads but found no info on this kind of noise.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
561 Posts
I got a rattle/squeak shortly after replacing my muffler. Turns out that the hanger wasn't properly seated inside the rubber grommet and there was a little metal on metal contact. Could be as simple as that. Good luck!

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
DawgBone said:
I got a rattle/squeak shortly after replacing my muffler. Turns out that the hanger wasn't properly seated inside the rubber grommet and there was a little metal on metal contact. Could be as simple as that. Good luck!
Yeah, my problem is; it's a loud @$$ rattle. Almost to the degree of a ricer's coffee can exhaust. It's def. sounding like metal on metal, but only at high RPM's. And another thing to consider is that i can only hear this noise with the rear window open...... so i'm still confused.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Went to Midas today since they were the ones who installed the muffler, and they said that it's just what it does. Then the guy started to tell me that the "fiberglass lining" was burnt out; which is funny because it's a straight through design muffler and there is no glass pack....
So either they are completely full of $hit, or this is indeed what the muffler does naturally.