Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 08 titan SE 4x4. I am new to the truck scene, but have always bought name brand tires. I went to a 4 wheel drive shop, looking into a leveling kit and wheels and tires. I decided to get the Helo wheels Maxx 6 and the guy wants to sell me the Nitto dura grappler tires size 285/65/18. He says it won't rub. The question that I have....I have never heard of Nitto but like I said earlier, I am new to the truck scene. Tire Rack shows that the Bridgestone Dueler A/T Revo are very good tires but I don't see that size. Which tire would last the longest? 95% highway driving, 5% off road but the 5%, I don't wanna be stuck! Which would be the best? I live in Southwest Virginia where we do get heavy snow at times, any help would be greatly appreciated!!!! Thanks!!!!

·
Registered
6,182 Posts
I'd pass on the Dura-Grapplers since they are a hwy. tread. They'd be fine on dirt roads, but don't have the traction of an AT.

The Nitto Terra Grapplers are a good AT, as well as the BFG AT KO and the Toyo, (Toyo makes Nitto). Many sizes in the BFG AT KO have the severe weather rating which means they are sometimes exempt from snow chain controls.

These are offered in light truck, (LT), sizes, which are tougher than the P-metric ATs like the Bridgestone Revo, (some of their smaller sizes are offered in a LT). The LT's stiffer side walls roll under less in higher speed cornering which is a big advantage for on road, and the LT sizes have greater load capability, but only at inflation pressures approaching their maximum.

How wide are the Helos and what's their offset or backspacing?

Nitto Terra Grappler:
LT275/70R18 E 125S 200-910 15.6 33.27" dia. 10.94" width on an 8" wide rim, and about 11.2" width on a 8.5" rim. 7.0-(8.0)-8.5
LT285/65R18 E 125R 200-810 16.5 32.52" dia. 11.22" 8.0-(8.5)-10.0
The 1st one above, the 275, shouldn't be mounted on a rim greater than 8.5"

BFG AT KO: