Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I bought a 2018 Pro4x back in August and have had it to the dealership 3 times because it reeks of antifreeze when I shut her off and get out of the truck. Can also smell it when windows are open in slow traffic.

Dealership has said repeatedly that there are no leaks and it is "Just how these trucks smell"

I have been wrenching on cars since 1988 and when it smells like coolant it means trouble to me.

Any input from the folks here? Does your truck smell like coolant/antifreeze?

·
Registered
107 Posts
Mine does it to. I went to the dealer and they told me the same thing. I keep an eye on my overflow tank thing and I haven't lost enough to concern me. They explained to me it was a new type of evaporation thing on new cars, my wife's Rouge smells the same also. Go figure

·
Premium Member
20,347 Posts
Early model Titans had a tendency to blow antifreeze out of the radiator cap. I replaced my cap with one from Stant and didn't have a problem after that. Chase down all hoses that run antifreeze through them. It could be a line that isn't one that you would normally look at.

Normally, antifreeze leaves a gray residue when it dries.

·
Premium Member
3,611 Posts
On occasion I’ll get a whiff when walking by the front of the truck, my Frontiers did it as well. I don’t notice any loss of coolant.

Clint

·
Premium Member
1,378 Posts
I've been wrenching about the same amount of time as you, and also feel I shouldn't smell anti-freeze around the front of my truck.

My dealer told me the same story. Just keep a eye out for leaks, and check the reservoir whenever you raise the hood.

I feel unnerved by the smell too, its annoying.

I haven't gotten around to it but I want to try what HRTKD said. Buy a Stant radiator cap and see it's related to pressure holding ability of the OE cap?

Reactions: Titan332009

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #7