Nissan Titan Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am heading to the beaches off of Cape Cod, Ma this weendend. I am looking for some advice for sand driving, as I have no experience driving in
it. I have driven my atv in sand but thats it.

The park requires the following:

Shovel: Heavy-duty shovel equal to a military folding shovel
Towing Device: Any of the following which are at least 14 feet long:
Tow Strap: 11/2"; Rope: 3/4"; Chain 5/16"; Cable 1/4"
Jack: Standard size (e.g., vehicle manufacturer's jack)
Jack Support Board: Wood: 10" x 12" x 11/2" or Plywood: 10" x 12" x 3/4"
Tire Pressure Gauge: Must register to 5 p.s.i. or lower

Spare Tire: Must meet tire standards outlined below.
Tires: All 5 tires, including the spare tire, must meet or exceed the standards outlined below. These standards are minimum acceptable tire standards.

I am going to bring my aluminum atv ramps just in case too.

They also give the following tire spec:

Rim Diameter Width Profile Example

18” 255 55 or > P255 / 55 R18

I am guessing I will be ok with my stock tires.

·
Registered
662 Posts
Need to drop the air pressure for sand driving which will make your TPMS light up.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Which park are you going to? I live in MA and am interested in driving on the beach.

I have an 06 LE CC. Looks like I'll need new tires. Mine are 18" but not 255.

·
Premium Member
76,460 Posts
you should be fine unless the sand is really deep. i didn't drop my air pressure at all and left it in 4-hi in 3rd, but kept it under 40 per the speed limit.

here's a few pix from my trip:

enjoy man, it's a lot of fun and sure beats walking....

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
Another tip for beach driving, don't drive or let any salt water run up onto your truck. It rust out way bad.

·
Registered
686 Posts
Sand gets into EVERYTHING, but if you wait long enough, she'll poot out a pearl.

·
Registered
81 Posts