Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Banned
2,738 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys.. I'm new to this whole towing/hauling thing..

But if I was to get one of these bed campers, simular to the picture below.. will the Titan handle it?? I think the max bed payload is 1500lbs? But these thigns weigh in the mid 2k range right? I'll probably be buying a used one (nice, I have standards) to live in for a few months..but clearly I need to make sure the Titan could handle such bed weight. Or else I need to find a different living situation! I really like this option so I can tow my Bronco behind the Titan on a trailer.. can't drive two trucks at once lol

·
Registered
314 Posts
you will be ok if you get air bags for the rear and maybe some bilstein 5100's up front to handle the extra weight.. wont have a problem driving around with it.. my buddy has one on his F 250 and he needed bags too.. just a little extra body roll around the turns. hope it works out for you.

·
Premium Member
69,811 Posts
Yeah, it'll be top heavy for sure...

·
Banned
2,738 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well top heavy is no good.. I'll be going up utlitiy trails in the mountains. I thought this would be an easier solution than a trailer to tow

·
Registered
385 Posts
For something like that (2000+ lbs) I would opt for at least a 3/4 ton. Dual rear wheels would be a benefit with a slide in camper, especially for stability. If you can find something under 1500 lbs, a 1/2 ton would probably handle it OK.

What model of Titan do you have, CC or KC? You would probably need at least a 6.5 ft bed.

·
Banned
2,738 Posts
Discussion Starter #6