Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
555 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm sure there are plenty of union tradesmen/women here on TT. I'm looking for a career change since being laid off a few months ago. I'm interested in a skilled trade along the lines of a pipefitter, sheet metal worker or electrician.

I'm wondering what's your trade and do you enjoy it or regret going into it? How's the pay and job availability and what part of the country do you work?

I look forward to your replies. Thanks.

Mars

·
Registered
939 Posts
How about aircraft mechanic?? They are ALWAYS looking for mechanics. And the pay is pretty good too. Of course, you gotta get an A&P (Airframe and Powerplant) license. Honestly I think that would be the way to go, either that or your standard auto mechanic.

·
Registered
949 Posts
I'm an electrician around the atlanta Ga. area and jobs are lacking right now and I too am laid off and have been for a while now but as far as liking it, I love doing electrical work and the pay is good if your licenced and ok if your not.

·
Registered
12,754 Posts
How about aircraft mechanic?? They are ALWAYS looking for mechanics. And the pay is pretty good too. Of course, you gotta get an A&P (Airframe and Powerplant) license. Honestly I think that would be the way to go, either that or your standard auto mechanic.
You don't have to have a A&P to work in some shops. As long as the operator has a 145 license you can work under that. The guys working in our main hanger don't even use their A&P. Most of our sheetmetal guys don't even have a A license.

·
Registered
12,665 Posts