Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 2005 titan cc with 254,000 miles on it. It's been a great truck, but here recently it has started to burn a lot of oil like a quart every 150-250 miles or so. I haven't found any leaks, I just switched to full synthetic my last oil change which I do myself and add Lucas every oil change. I changed valve covers and pcv valves also. I just ordered my exhaust and tuner from Cajun and I don't want to have it installed if it's something bad and will need a new motor. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also I changed plugs about two months ago and didn't see any oil residue but that could have changed by now. Also I found oil on top of one of the spark plugs but when I changed the valve covers I replaced the boot and it seems to have stopped but would a faulty plug cause that much oil burn. I'm no mechanic just parts changer.

·
Registered
882 Posts
254,000 is good to hear mileage!!! Notice any recent powerloss? Smoke at start up or under hard(er) acceleration?
Switching to synthetic after 254000 miles of dino might not have been a good idea.. Could be bad oil rings due to milege. You could get a compression test done.

·
Registered
8,174 Posts
when was the last time you changed the PC valves?

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have smoke on start up but at no other time and I just changed the pc valves when I changed the valve covers. I switched to synthetic cause it started doing the Nissan titan tap sound that so many people have and it cured that but I was losing oil before I switched over.

·
Registered
882 Posts
Call around and find out. They'll have to pull all 8 spark plugs. So there is some labor but it shouldn't be too much.

·
Registered
8 Posts