Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. First I'm going to admit to being totally new and in serious need of any assistance. Next I will preemptively say thank you for all and any help offer. I have used this site for research since I bought my 04 titan, used, one owner, one year ago today. it was immaculate and I love it. all original at this point save brakes, tires and front wheel bearings.
Now for the fun. i return home and park the truck, locked steering wheel, Saturday afternoon. The truck sat until the next day at 4:00 pm, turn the key............nothing. lights, sounds, everything normal except....... not even and attempt to crank.
i am a heavy duty truck mechanic apprentice, not a Nissan mechanic. i know.........very little. ;)
battery was cleaned, tested, good to go. started a friends truck with it. no fuses under the hood bad, truck is bodily in fantastic shape and grounds i have found in the last two days......good. i found, on sunday afternoon, the "a/t cont" fuse blown. replace it.....blows instantly.
the gear indicator on the hud (the rounded square around the gear on display) does not light up. otherwise, everything works as normal....just blows the fuse and if i jump the fuse....it still wont crank.
my code reader shows u1000 code but i believe (from much reading here) that code arose from disconnecting the battery and the ecm not communicating after 2 seconds?
anyway...the short story is....ive spent two days researching and looking and testing for continuity everything i can reach. even opened the tranny pan looking for shorting wires connected to that specific circuit that would cause more than 20A to run through it and blow that fuse. where is the problem so i can repair it? Can anyone please help?
Thanks in advance,
Ben Catcher
Stratford, Ontario, Canada.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2