Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
827 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have experience with the Nissan hitch? I know most of you guys use the Equalizer, but I can get the Nissan one for 199$ right now (more than half off the Equalizer). Anyway, I have never used a hitch like this before, but I will be towing my parent's TT in a few months and will need one. Came across this deal and it will be real hard to pass up.

Basically, will the Nissan hitch get the job done safely, and why would I want to pay twice the price for the Equalizer? Along with the twice the price argument, does the Nissan hitch have built in sway control like the Equalizer, or would I have to add that separately (and making the cost issue mute)?

Thanks for the advice!

·
Super Moderator
160,820 Posts
The Nissan WD hitch looks a lot like my Reese hitch. For that reason, I do not believe it will include any type of anti-sway, which is one of the benefits of the Equalizer hitch. The way the Equalizer is set up, it builds the anti-sway into it. On my Reese, I have a simple friction anti-sway mechanisim which works fine for me. The Nissan hitch doesn't even seem to have the option of doing an anti-sway device such as the one I use. :dunno:

Is the Nissan hitch safe? Probably as much as any other. Will it give you the best service and experience? Probably not. Is that worth saving a few bucks? It wouldn't be to me.

Reactions: RxZ

·
Registered
827 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the input. After looking into it a little more, the deal isn't as great as I thought. Mainly for the above reason. The Nissan WD Hitch does not have the sway control like the Equalizer. My parents and I pretty much will share their TT this summer, so we will both need the hitch. I think we will just go together and each pay half for the Equalizer. That should solve the issue of cost and we get a good hitch.

·
Super Moderator
160,820 Posts