Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3,739 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just closed on and moved into my house this last weekend and have a good sise garage so I'm finally going to attempt to paint my grille and mirror caps and probably door handles. So do you fellas have and tips or suggestions that could help me out like what sand paper and paint to use or any thing thanks guys

·
Registered
37 Posts
I'm new to the titan, but on my cars and other trucks I always use Plasti-Dip for a matt black finish. If thats what your going for? Best thing about it is there is no prep required other than cleaning and you can just peel it off if you want to go back to chrome.

·
Registered
383 Posts
If you are going to paint the the grille, mirror caps, and door handles I suggest 2 things... Rustoleum Self-Etching primer and Rustoleum Spray on Bedliner... do 2-3 light coats of primer then do a crap ton of coats of the bedliner... I would suggest doing like 3 lite coats of bedliner then let dry for an hour in the sun... then go back and do another 3 coats... keep going until you have like 8-9 lite coats and it will never chip off!!! I did like 3 normal coats and it chipped a little but anything over 6 coats and you are good! Ohh best part is that Wallmart has the primer and bedliner!!!

Reactions: TEX=TTN

·
Registered
984 Posts
For the mirror caps no sanding should be required. Door handles shouldn't either unless chrome. If chrome, scuff them up a bit with a medium grit paper and hit it with one tack coat and then 2-3 coats. Same concept for grill.

Reactions: TEX=TTN

·
Registered
3,739 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Ok cool. Here in OKC its getting up to 100°. Think that will matter if I leave it in the sun.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Ill look into it. Is it messy or just another paint