Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new at this, just want to know, do you have information on the frame thicknees vs the frame of the big 3, the frame is like a fondation on a house and very important before I by.

thanks. radio

·
Registered
182 Posts
Radio said:
I'm new at this, just want to know, do you have information on the frame thicknees vs the frame of the big 3, the frame is like a fondation on a house and very important before I by.

thanks. radio

Hello Radio:

I don't know the wall thickness, but Titan utilizes a fully boxed ladder frame, constructed from four-sided closed rails, which are more durable and rigid than the three-sided open section rails used by some manufacturers. This gives you more load bearing capacity. This truck was well engineered and well thought out including what was learned from asking previous truck owners what they wanted. (heh, imagine that!)

:haveredfl

NITEBLITZ

·
Registered
196 Posts
I don't know the exact thickness, approximately 1/4 inch. The Titan and the New F-150 both have fully boxed frames ( Square tube steel) vs others with C channel frames. :)

·
Registered
82 Posts
Currently the tundra is the only 1/2ton that doesn't have a fully boxed frame. It is however fully boxed from the front to the end of the cab and behind that is a rolled C frame and is a one peice frame, unlike the many peice welded together like others. It had a stronger torsional rigidy than all other C frame 1/2ton at the time of it's release in early 99.

The titan's fully boxed frame measers about 2" wide, quite narrow, hmm.

·
Registered
182 Posts
ricqik said: