Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6,823 Posts
I have been using a Stant locking gas cap for 19 months now and no problems.

·
Premium Member
141,094 Posts
I got one from Autozone for 14 bucks.

·
Registered
268 Posts
The one that I got from autozone over a year ago just started throwing the SES code. Save your factory one just in case. I had to put mine back on.

·
Registered
2,635 Posts
gwoziewicz said:
Does anyone know of a locking gas cap that you would recommend?
why do you need one ? i could honestly never picture anyone stealing gas out of my truck lol...

·
Registered
1,464 Posts
killcatzforfun said:
why do you need one ? i could honestly never picture anyone stealing gas out of my truck lol...
For me I do not trust a couple of punks around me. One has parents that will set him straight the other I would like to beat with a wet towel. They both have two cars and no jobs. I don't want to be the one that is paying their gas bill.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Bought one from autozone. Gave me the service engine light everytime i put it on. And after I took it off, the light stayed on until i filled up or when im on a straight away, rev the engine a few times, it turns back off. Problem was, I was supposed to turn the cap until it clicks 3 times, then lock it. I put it on an locked it. SEL never came on after that.

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
In this day of $3+/gallon gas, I don't know why manufacturers don't put on a locking gas DOOR as standard equipment. Has anyone tried to retrofit a key lock on the gas door?

·
Registered
16 Posts
I bought the srant one from pep boys over a year ago, never had a problem w/ it. Of course, as "loudpipes" found out, it works best if you lock it...

·
Registered
190 Posts