Nissan Titan Forum banner

Headers on Motor Mount

12K views 40 replies 18 participants last post by  Bremer 
#1 ·
So... I've been chasing a squeak in my engine bay for about 6 months now. Needless to say after trying all the normal things, I saw honda mention headers contacting the motor mount. Well every single time I remembered to check I was in the truck. Finally checked this morning and yep, found the squeak (picture).

Am I ok just tightening these suckers back up and hoping they stay? I assume what happened once will happen again. Headers were on the truck probably 6-7 months before the squeak started.

Should I pull the mounts and grind them down? I didn't look at the passenger side since the noise was coming from the driver, but I will definitely check them to make sure.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)
What I did is put a washer - or two - between the motor mount and the engine. That was enough to get the header to clear the motor mount.

You might want to raise the engine up. That may reposition the engine better on the motor mount. Loosening the nuts/bolts on the frame side of the motor mount might make that work better.

#15 ·
This is NOT standard procedure for JBA Long Tube headers. When JBA did the R&D on the product it was on a low mileage NEW truck so the motor is sitting up correctly in the engine bay. Most of the guys having an issue have many miles on their trucks and the motor is sagging from worn motor mounts.

Just some information for all.

#8 ·
Now you guys have me paranoid.

I haven't heard or felt anything off, but I'm going to have to take a look tomorrow.

#9 ·
Yes the header was contacting when the mount was tight to the motor. The passenger side is fine, just the driver.