Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 98 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here,

Test drove the Titan Sunaday and I WANT one. But, there is a fly in the ointment -- I need to tow a 7300# Airstream Trailer. Now I know the book says big tow package gets you 9500# but the tongue weight on the trailer is 900#.

Put the wife and I in the ruck and I've got about 350# before I over gross the Titan.

So, is anyone here towing something this heavy and, if so, how well are you doing?

Thanks,

Mike

·
Registered
65 Posts
n2916s said:
Newbie here,

Test drove the Titan Sunaday and I WANT one. But, there is a fly in the ointment -- I need to tow a 7300# Airstream Trailer. Now I know the book says big tow package gets you 9500# but the tongue weight on the trailer is 900#.

Put the wife and I in the ruck and I've got about 350# before I over gross the Titan.

So, is anyone here towing something this heavy and, if so, how well are you doing?

Thanks,

Mike
I was told by my trailer guy if you install weight distbution bars, you can cut trailer tongue weight. I actually do not know if this is true. Maybe you will get some comments on the forum.

·
Registered
294 Posts
Mike, I think you are certainly close to what I would be comfortable with but you may be ok IF you purchased some LT rated tires. I just purchased a set of Goodyear AT/S LT 275/65-18's (load range E) to provide additional stability and load capability and they make a world of difference in how the truck handles. While the P rated tires that come with the Titan's ride very well in town they just aren't up to handling this big of a truck in heavy crosswinds on the highway or heavy towing applications. If you don't have a lot of other cargo I think you would be fine.

There are others on this forum that are pulling some 5th wheels with pin weights heavier than your tongue weight for whatever it's worth.

Karl

·
Registered
183 Posts