Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
741 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I finally got around to doing this today and figured I'd put up a brief how-to. It was surprisingly easy. I've never messed with anything drivetrain related before so I was pleasantly surprised. From start to finish it took me a little over two and a half hours. I'm by no means a pro and I did this with minimal knowledge and tools, just a bit of research and a couple hacks. I'll keep it brief, maybe this will help someone out. Here goes:

1. Remove hub cover and loosen wheel lugs (don't remove the lugs)

2. I chose to jack the truck from the crossmember using a 3 ton jack, with a 2 ton cross beam adapter (picture 1). It lifted beautifully. Just use common sense here getting the truck on to jack stands.

3. Once the truck is securely on stands with tires off of the ground, remove the lugs and tires. Personally, I slide the tires under the front for a bit of extra security in case the stands fail.

4. Relocate the jack under the lower control as close to the hub as possible to give it a bit of support. Don't jack too high though otherwise your truck will be tipping to one side.

5. Remove the cotter pin and nut on the hub. Sliding a screwdriver through the brake disc (picture 2) keeps the hub from rotating while you apply the torque. On my 2010 a 32mm socket with a breaker bar did the trick, though truthfully it took some convincing (picture 3).

6. Once the hub nut is off, move to the front differential flange and undo the 6 bolts. Remember, the axle spins so you can position it however you get the best torque. I only had a relatively short 14mm wrench handy so I spun the axle so my target bolt was at the bottom, placed the wrench on, and pressed it with my foot (pictures 4 and 5). All 6 bolts on both the driver, and passenger side axles came undone with a single press doing this.