Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It would be nice to have an AC power outlet at the back of my bed. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I should have just got all these options when I bought the truck, oh well. Next time, 10 years from now!!

I know I need a DC to AC inverter, but what ratings?

I can just run my power from the battery, to the inverter, then from the inverter to a receptacle wherever I install it at the back of the bed, correct?

I've never done anything like this before, not with stereo's or anything like that. I have a general idea of how to do it, but any guidance would be helpful.

Any thoughts on what this might cost?

·
Premium Member
92,554 Posts
Well, unless you're planning on installing some backup batteries, this is a mod that's gonna leave you stranded in the outback one day...... I've seen conversion kits online and at places like Cabela's and some camper supply places. Never really looked into it as I don't really have this need. One member here did an installation and mounted a fridge on a sliding platform in the bed of his truck. Maybe I can spook around a little to see what I can find......

·
Registered
12,510 Posts
You are going to spend ALOT of money doing it. I have 2 Honda 2000 gens. that will power almost anything I need and they are perfectly quiet. You can carry on a conversation right next to them. And you can put them together for a TOTAL OF 4000 WATTS. They cost $1000 each and what you want to do will cost you close to the same.

·
Registered
12,510 Posts
I also have a 1500 watt inverter that I paid almost $500 for and I planned on doing what you are trying to do. It is just sitting in the garage. Like BB said unless you run your engine while using a high power inverter you will get yourself stranded.

·
Registered
6,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Not really wanting to give up bedspace for a generator.

·
Registered
6,061 Posts