Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm on the hunt to add a hitch to my truck.

Once I do, I have two stumps in my yard that I can either pay $150 for a stump grinder to come out and grind up, or I can try pulling them out with the truck.

How do you yank out a stump? Slowly, quickly, both? How do you hook a strap around it if it's just a stump and not a tree?

What kind of strap do you use?

Just curious - I've never done it before and since I live in Florida and my front yard is nothing but sand, it seems like the truck should be able to do it.

Orrrrrrrrrrrrrr do I mostly just risk ruining my yard and damaging my truck?

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ourbaby said:
What type of tree? Pine or Oak?
neither, actually. I'm not sure what the heck they are. It's odd now that I think about it, cause it seems like FL is 90% pines or oaks.

They were planted back in 83 by the original home owner, and the trees were about 30' tall each. The trunks were about 8-10" diameter.

·
Registered
2,251 Posts
If it has a diameter of larger than a foot and a half grind it. OK your gona try it so here it goes. Use a water hose with a spray nosle and a shovle. Startd digging it out a little and cut the roots as you come down. Dig about a foot down and tie your snatch rope around the stump under some root as low as you can go. Start by pulling in 4L and see what happens, if you get nothing back up a little and give it a bump. If you get noting dig and cut some more roots.
And by the way you didnt make it to the Jville area meet, was a good time man. We had 6 trucks and a state trooper.

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ourbaby said: