Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys.

I've recently installed the Hypertech E-Con (economy tuner) in my 2005 Titan and experienced a DROP in fuel economy.

First, let me go on record as saying that, in an attempt to squeeze every drop of fuel, I have been driving like a little old lady for several months now. I had hoped that the E-Con tuner would help but, but since retuning with the Hypertech E-Con tuner, my in-town mileage dropped from around 14-mpg to 12-mpg with no other changes

Have any of you guys seen this kind of result?

FYI… When I spoke with their tech support crew this morning, I was told that the tuner "does not make any changes to partial throttle settings" and that "all of our settings change is the fuel map and spark curve at the wide open throttle position"

Translation: I just spent $329.00 to change my wide open throttle settings (which I never use) and somehow it’s negatively impacted my around town (partial throttle position) mileage

My truck has the K&N full intake, Airrade throttle body spacer and Banks 3" diameter "Monster" exhaust with a "Ultra Quiet" resonator added

What do you guys think? Have any of you experienced anything similar? Like I said, my driving style has NOT changed - the only change is the retune using the Hypertech E-Con

THANKS for any input you can offer!

·
Banned
1,269 Posts
I told people a long time ago they would be happy that Hypertech offers a 30 day guarantee.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
<grin> how true!

I was hoping that I was not alone on this one... I could not get a straight answer from tech support regarding what impact my other mods had on the Hypertech programming.... I got the feeling that I was speaking with a (very) young guy who really didn't have a firm grasp on the specific changes their tuner makes..

·
Registered
134 Posts