Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am comming up for a job transfer at my Employer, and was LEAKED some interview questions from the Manager.

The job requires a CCNA but since I work for the company they stated they will train me...I am a Systems Software Analyst and wanted to move into the Networking team...the position is for a Jr. Network Engineer.

I don't know if anyone can help me answer some of these questions.

I know some of the answers already..but if anyone could elaborate..I would be in your debt.

Here Goes

1. What is the difference between a distance-vector and link-state protocol.

2. What type of routing protocol is OSPF? BGP?

3. What is DHCP and how does it work?

4. What does the default gateway do ?

5. What is the difference between a hub and a switch? Between a switch and a bridge?

6. You have a workstation on part of the network that can ping any other ip address in it's segment, but nothing in the datacenter. What is the first thing you check?

·
Registered
11,152 Posts
All your answer can be :google:
I'm not being rude but if you put forth the research you will retain the information better than just asking.

You might want to include OSI model.
What does DHCP have to do with networking, thats a system function.
You might want to look up iBGP, eBGP, eiGRP, RIP, RIP2, IS-IS, Static Routes, as these are also routing protocols.
Check on VLANs, Spanning Tree.

What you have and what I included is basic knowledge of a CCNP exam.

·
Registered
2,486 Posts
"Cheating" to get the answers for knowledge required for your job is setting yourself up to fail. You really need to research what's being asked and understand the fundamentals of each aspect. Simply answering the questions correctly does you no good if you have no idea what it means. :cheers:

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #4