Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
954 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well its come to be that time because I'm about to start college and I need to get a new laptop. What do you guys have? Do you like it or not? If you could get something different what would it be? I'm open to all suggestions Mac or PC and I want to hear your pros and cons not just "I really like this computer". I don't want to go to crazy on the price but it doesn't have to be cheap (under $1800) and I'm majoring in mechanical engineering so I'm looking for more of a data computer not a design type computer. Thanks

·
Banned
2,738 Posts
I have reviewed many laptops prior to buying my current. I usually buy a new one every 6months to a year and the one I got was the best on the market at the time. I have an HP multi-media laptop. I got the 17'' screen but they also offer it in a 15'' screen.

4ghz processor (duo-core)
4GB ram
1024 dedicated video memory
64-bit operating system
vista premium
wireless remote that stores in the expansion port.

Great wi-fi antenna. I'm able to pick up my buddies network 1 block away.

One down side to it though is it has a "pretty" finish. Copper/silver design with chrome around the keyboard and the outer frame.

Anywho I paid $650 for it. Has 500gb hard drive, and dual layer dvd burner. Lightscribe. It does pretty much everything! Got it at best buy.

With the outter finish I was thinking of sandpaper it, and spray on some bedliner. Right now its a magnet for finger prints. But it does look good lol

·
Registered
378 Posts
A few words of advice from a tech junkie...

1) If you can afford it, stick with a "business" model laptop, not a "consumer" model laptop. This means you'll get a better built laptop and better technical support (USA based) when you need it.

2) At a minimum, go with an Intel Core 2 Duo CPU, 4GB of RAM, a dedicated graphics card (if you are going to be doing any CAD or graphics work), and at least a 120GB hard drive.