Nissan Titan Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey everybody i had a question. i just bought a 2008 yamaha rhino and was planning on hauling it in the bed of my truck (a 2004 king cab titan). i pulled it in the bed and it fits fine but im worried about the rear wheels of the rhino sitting on the tailgate. the rhino weighs 1200lbs and it just seemed like it might damage it plus i couldent fit my finger between the bumper and tailgate which i could do before i loaded the rhino. will hauling it like this break or damage my tail gate? and does anyone know what the weight limit is on the tail gate. i heard it was 200lbs but i would expect it to be higher.
anyways thanks in advanced for any help

·
Registered
201 Posts
i would think you'd be fine, but i'm no expert. Ask your dealer maybe?

I would just put the bike in but have the front two wheels pointed skywards (turn off the gas). That's how people transport their atv's around here.

·
Premium Member
3,490 Posts
I've got an 05 Rhino, but have never hauled it in a bed. I have a ten foot landscaping trailer with a four foot fold down ramp. Well worth the investment for the ease of use.

·
Registered
2,509 Posts
I would get 2 2x12's and cut them to length and park your Rhino on top of the 2x12's..

By the way, my Rhino fits in my crew cab as well, but I wouldn't take it far in my truck.. U-Haul rents trailers..

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Derwud said:
I would get 2 2x12's and cut them to length and park your Rhino on top of the 2x12's..

By the way, my Rhino fits in my crew cab as well, but I wouldn't take it far in my truck.. U-Haul rents trailers..
thats a good idea. but why not the distance, is the tailgate that weak? does anyone know what the tailgate can hold?

·
Registered
6,823 Posts
Nissan rates the tailgate at 200#, so get the 2x12s for it to sit on.

·
Registered
2,509 Posts
justrich said: