Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So this is a write up/run down of the new Rough Country Exo Winch Mount. I’ve been searching and waiting for something that wasn’t a full big heavy front bumper and this seemed to fit the bill for me. Really wanting to gain the function of the winch as priority and have it looking decent being second or even third. Anyway I installed this myself and my truck is a 2019 Titan pro-4x. It came with factory tow hooks, skid plate and park assist which means four sensors in the front.

Biggest issue for me was the removal of the two tow hooks. With the skid plate down The tow hooks are mounted with two bolts, the tow hook is sandwiched between the bracket the partially supports the skid plat and the front frame that supports the bumper. Bolts that are in the rear, no problem. Forward bolts each side where i gigantic pain to remove...... I’m not a pro and I don’t own all the cool tools but I have enough to get most any job done. These bolts are super hard to reach to get any kind of torque to remove. Only way I could get them off I had to remove the plastic surround at the tow hooks each side which you ya r to anyway, but I also had to remove the plastic grille insert that’s in the bumper. I could then get a 17mm box wrench on the bolts after I removed the 6 bolts three each side that hold the bumper to the frame. Box wrench and a pipe extension to break them suckers free.
when you remove the two bolts for the tow hooks the skid plate bracket is now also free and drops down and out.
Directions are decent for the plastic surround at each tow hook. Cutting the plastic isn’t an issue.