Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Attention Nissan techs, dealer experts, or anyone who knows what to do here!!

I'm having an issue with my truck. After several months of small fixes and diagnostic fixes I'm guessing its a driveline or tranny problem. See below for my problem. If it is in fact a tranny problem I unfortunately have to go through the dealer. I have an 08' w/ 44k on the ticker so it should be covered under the 5yr/60k drivetrain warrenty. I say unfortunately because like others I have never had a good experience with dealers and I'm pretty sure they are trying to screw me regardless wheter I'm buying a vehicle or getting service. Sorry for all the legit dealers/tech but I have had some bad experiences.

Issue: I'm getting a shutter/vibration from the tranny/rearend between 40-60mph in 5th gear while goosing the gas a bit just enough to keep it going. I can replicate it all the way up to 80mph. If just cruising in that range it will vibrate on its own sometimes but not always. Its mainly occurs when I release the throttle and then apply a small amount of throttle again. Its almost like there is play in the tranny/driveline and the release or addition of throttle shocks the truck. Just picture throwing a rock into a lake...a big initial splash then a few seconds of smaller ripples. I can feel the everything from the tranny back shake. Dropping to 4th seems to make it go away or maybe just mask it somewhat. If its vibrating and I really get on the gas it goes away.

1: Balance tires - no change
2: Force balance tires - no change
3: Shims. Tired 1*, 1.5*, and 2* - no change
4: Dealer # 1 check while in during recall fix - no issue found
5: Dealer # 2 in for the vibration - "yeah its there, must be normal"
6: New rear shocks - no change
7: Replaced both u-joints on the rear shaft - no change...maybe a slight reduction
8: lubed slip yoke - no change