Nissan Titan Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. I bought a '06 SE Crew w/22k on it about 10 days ago. LOVE the truck so far... it was a one owner and was so clean it didn't need detailing.

I've read online that it has the flex fuel option...

Does that mean I can put E-85 in the tank without doing anything special? I **think** there's a station close by that carries it, but don't want to try it until I know for sure that it's okay.

How does this affect gas mileage, if any?

Anything I should know, good or bad?

Thanks,

Gary Collier
Albany, Ga.

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
If the inside of your fuel filler door has a label that states E85 can be used, then fill 'er up and watch your mileage go down.

·
Registered
321 Posts
E85 get worse mileage, so you'll be at the pump more often, therefore negating any benefit of the cheaper price.

·
Registered
301 Posts
E85 will give you a worse gas mileage, about 4 miles/ gallon less then regular gasoline. Here in South Carolina E-85 is $2.60/ gallon and regular gasoline is $2.72/ gallon, so it doesn't justify it for me.

·
Super Moderator
162,263 Posts
With a fuel density (IIRC) that's about 28% less than gasoline, you'd have to find E85 at that same percentage less in price to make up the difference. Unless you just want to feel more "green" when driving your truck that is. If that's the case, just do like Musky says. Fill 'er up. :)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks, guys.

I wuz wrong... there are 3 stations that carry E85 but they're about 75 miles from here in Warner Robins, Ga.

Know what's weird? Warner Robins has 3 stations.

Atlanta has 1. Go figure!!

I may try it out next time I'm in WR, just for curiosity, but it's not a regular option like I thought it was.

I didn't know about the decreased mileage, either.

Thanks for the help!

Gary

·
Registered
61 Posts
brazad said:
Thanks, guys.