Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I'm a newb to my '04 Titan -- dubdubdub dot flickr dot com/photos/jbroom/762827959/ ---, and keep getting a thump when i accelerate from a stop. i found this thread talking about bed rails. --- dubdubdub dot titantalk dot com/forums/titan-general-discussion/20794-things-go-bump-night-problem.html?highlight=bed+thump --- i'm assuming that this is refering to the rail system that some of the titans have in the bed, but my truck doesn't have that.

anyone have any ideas? its driving me crazy.

thanks,
Broom

ps: since i'm a newb, the forum won't let me post urls... so you'll have to excuse my weird links.

·
Registered
450 Posts
Is the thump more of a clunk? Does it thump/clunk when you come to a stop? My truck does it too. Especially when it's hot outside. Mine has been doing it since day one. I hasn't gotten worse. I believe it's axle wrap or something in that nature. When I put my truck into neutral before I stop, the clunk goes away. I wouldn't worry about it.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i dunno... thump, clunk... not sure. it does kinda seem like it could be slack in the drivetrain, but it doesn't do it as soon as i start to accelerate. maybe 1 or 2 seconds afterwards. i never noticed heat making any difference either. it'll do it right out of the driveway in the morning.

i do notice the thump when i come to a stop sometimes, but its not as noticable. i haven't paid as much attention to it.

·
Registered
1,573 Posts
Your Yitan does a test everytime you start the truck. It only does it the first time out of the driveway and then stops until you turn the key off again. Sounds like a clunk. If I remember right it is testing your ABS system. If this, it is normal. Probably does it at around 10 mph.

·
Registered
2,320 Posts