Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Quick overview:
I have a 2009 SE 4-wheel drive model with around 135k miles. Mostly factory suspension except for a PRG 1" leveling kit and a set of 305/65/18 Nitto Terra Grappler G2s. I've noticed the overall ride quality has diminished over the past 12 months. The factory shocks or struts have never been replaced - I can only assume that its shock, struts, or both? Lot of knocking when I go over bumps -- almost sounds like a bushing or something is shot.

I'm not a mechanic by no means but know enough to get by, however most work on the truck is done by a seasoned professional. Greg at PRG told me on the phone when I ordered the leveling kit that the shocks are probably going to need to be replaced soon based on my mileage (that was about a year ago). Regardless if its shocks, or struts, I'm trying to weigh out my options. I've wanted to increase the ride height for a while now and can't help to wonder - if I'm going to put money into new shocks/struts, do I spend extra for a lift? What's the ballpark difference in how much that would cost vs just replacing parts that are worn out..is it the difference be a couple hundred or several hundred? I'd like to get around 3 or 4" in overall lift.

Hopefully that makes sense...just trying to get some input from others in the Titan world so I don't make a costly mistake.

·
Registered
919 Posts
With being 4x4, I've been told on here that about 3" is as high as you can go without putting too much stress on CV joints. After that it's a bracket lift. You could keep your spacer and put a set of bilstien 5100's on middle perch would give you approximately 2.5" of lift. You would also have to get aftermarket UCA's (rough country, dirt king, or prg). Then get a block in the back to level it off some. If you stick with bilstien in the back if you put more than a 1" block back there you would need 5125's.

·
Registered
1,521 Posts