Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey folks, i'm curious to how the 4x4 system works exactly. in 4H, is only one front wheel and the opposite rear providing the power unless traction is lost to one, hence the term limited slip diff? sorry for the noob question, but hey i'm new to the titan/4x4 scene.

thanks
craig

·
Registered
2,484 Posts
wheel with the least amount of resistance on either axle gets the traction.

Our trucks don't have limited slip differentials we have open differentials. If one tire looses traction it gets all the power. unless you have the e-locker. but that only works in 4 Low.

·
Registered
19 Posts
The answer by Just-In is incorrect.

You may have a limited slip rear differential; that is an option with either 4x4's or 4x2's, so you can have it or you cannot. If you do, the wheel with traction gets the power (the wheel with the MOST resistance, that is); if you don't, it's the opposite.
The front differential, when in 4x4 mode (either H or L) will transfer power to both front wheels simultaneously; no slip differential here. That is why you should never use 4x4 in dry pavement, you will granade the front differential in the first turn (when the wheels travel at different speed).

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
12,754 Posts
Bandala said:

You may have a limited slip rear differential; that is an option with either 4x4's or 4x2's, so you can have it or you cannot. If you do, the wheel with traction gets the power (the wheel with the MOST resistance, that is); if you don't, it's the opposite.
The front differential, when in 4x4 mode (either H or L) will transfer power to both front wheels simultaneously; no slip differential here. That is why you should never use 4x4 in dry pavement, you will granade the front differential in the first turn (when the wheels travel at different speed).

Hope this helps.