Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am new to this whole thing, so dont give me too much crap. but will a 4X2 tow a boat out of the water, 24ft ski boat (no idea about weight), just as effectively as a 4X4? its a decently steep ramp, i just dont want to get my truck stuck down at the bottom and have to ask to be pulled out. thanks

·
Registered
17 Posts
As long as eis no ice on the ramp you shoud be fine IMO. I have pulled my boat out of the water with a 4x2 many many times w/o a problem. Just start slow. Don't gun the gas when you are ready to pull it out.

·
Registered
62 Posts
With a pickup on a boat ramp, sometimes it helps to have a bit more weight over the rear wheels (like a couple of your buddies) if you get wheelspin. I never had trouble using 2wd towing my boats, but I was towing with a van or wagon.

·
Registered
801 Posts
4*4 is way better if its wet, got some weight, inclined pretty good like you said. You'll make it though, don't be afraid to smoke the tires on the way up.

·
Registered
360 Posts
Wiscdave said:
4*4 is way better if its wet, got some weight, inclined pretty good like you said. You'll make it though, don't be afraid to smoke the tires on the way up.
Uhhh... smoke the tires on the way up???? that would mean his tires are spinning... which is def. not good when pull up hill on a wet ramp... DO NOT SPIN the tires! You very well could end up with the boat dragging you into the water. I tow my boat out of slippy wet steap ramps with my 2 wheel drive every weekend. My boat weighs in at 5,500 pounds with the trailer. You shouldn't have a problem as long as you keep the tires from spinning and are set up properly with the right tongue weight. If you do start spinning hit the brakes until you get your traction back.

·
Registered
450 Posts