Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm preparing to move homes in the next few months and will probably rent a small uhaul type trailer (5x8) for moving. My truck is an06 titan 4x4 LE short bed with the off road and big tow packages. I've not doing any towing thus far and so this weekend I pulled out my owners manual and started reading. I'm not an expert on all the terminology but if I understand this correctly, I can't have any more than about 1000 lbs tongue weight and that includes whatever I have in the truck bed. I can easily load up the bed with that much weight, never mind the trailer but that doesn't make sense. Why have a tow package if I can't use it? In poking around the forums it appears some of you are hauling a lot more than a dinky uhaul. So I guess the question is, can I legitimately pull a loaded uhaul trailer or not? If I do, am I voiding my truck warranty?

Thanks,
Dan

·
Super Moderator
161,880 Posts
Yes, you can pull a U-Haul. You're kind of misinterpreting what the "tow" package was. It's gearing which lets you TOW more, as in pulling behind you. It doesn't affect the payload capacity of the truck as if it were a "haul on your back" package. It's the same battle 1/2 ton truck drivers have always faced in that we can often find trailers our trucks will pull, but the tongue weight kills us. Ever notice that you don't see many 5th wheel travel trailers behind a 1/2 ton? There's a reason for that. We lack the payload capacity for the pin weight on those things.

Put the heavy stuff in the trailer, and the light stuff in the bed. Load the Uhaul well so that all of the heavy stuff isn't at the front, the heavy stuff should be over the trailer's axle(s). Ideally, the tongue weight would be about 10% of the trailer weight. I know you won't be able to weigh it, so you'll have to use the LAR (Looks About Right) method. Good luck!

·
Registered
9,557 Posts