Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my transmission is on its way out after the cooler hose incident. Our last tow home fighting a head wind I had to pop her into 3rd to make it. When it was in 4th it was hunting for gears up and down and the tranny gauge went up to the hot line so I was left with no choice. I guess my choices are to send it away and get it rebuilt or do you buy new out of the box? The rear end bearing is what it is. It shifts fine in town and moving from 4th into 5th is smooth like new except with a load. Ive noticed going up hills lately the last few weeks she is surging maybe slipping Im no expert like its not sure if it wants 5th or 3rd gear. Any opinions what to do a rebuild or new in the box looks like im stuck with the truck. Its a 2wd and here in canada thats a tuff sell

·
Premium Member
4,162 Posts
I'd go trade it in and get a new T or something else before you sink a bunch of money into it. Too bad you don't have Carmax's, they buy cars on the spot for decent prices.

Reactions: schmidtmike76

·
Registered
407 Posts
my transmission is on its way out after the cooler hose incident. Our last tow home fighting a head wind I had to pop her into 3rd to make it. When it was in 4th it was hunting for gears up and down and the tranny gauge went up to the hot line so I was left with no choice. I guess my choices are to send it away and get it rebuilt or do you buy new out of the box? The rear end bearing is what it is. It shifts fine in town and moving from 4th into 5th is smooth like new except with a load. Ive noticed going up hills lately the last few weeks she is surging maybe slipping Im no expert like its not sure if it wants 5th or 3rd gear. Any opinions what to do a rebuild or new in the box looks like im stuck with the truck. Its a 2wd and here in canada thats a tuff sell