Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello i have a 04 nissan titan i just bought used. I habe 134000 Ive drove around 500 miles so far . And everything seems well. I took the truck in for a deep.inspection to see what needs to be done. my mechanic whom i trust been taking my nissans to him for years and is trust worthery. In the the inspection he said the transmission fluid looks a little dirty and recommends a transmission service in wich he will drain the fluid change the gasket and filter and re fill. Now. Im very superstisious about tranmission fluid . Im afraid if this is done it may cause transmision issues im currently not haveing any issues though since im new to titan. I want to see what you the titan experts think should i do it or is it not recommended.

·
Registered
912 Posts
Just make sure the fluid is swapped using a fluid exchange machine and your using the recommended nissan fluid.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,930 Posts
doesnt have to be nissan branded fluid, just meet the specs they suggest. Type J or soemthing like that. Valvoline high mileage tranny fluid meets them to the best of my memory.

its not considered a regular service item any more and in theory will last the life of your transmission, but with that many miles a change would probably do it some good

·
Registered
912 Posts
doesnt have to be nissan branded fluid, just meet the specs they suggest. Type J or soemthing like that. Valvoline high mileage tranny fluid meets them to the best of my memory.

its not considered a regular service item any more and in theory will last the life of your transmission, but with that many miles a change would probably do it some good
Your right. Matic J is the type. Nissan recommends 30k mile interval. At least that's what they told me.

·
Registered
201 Posts