Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ive been looking at these ultra thunder 17x9 wheels but i havent heard much on them...

http://www.ultrawheel.com/wheel_detail.cfm?brand=1&id=155

good quality? durable for off road?

also i was wondering if i go with 315/70R17/D bfg AT's if ill have to do the pinch weld mod or do any trimming?

im a total newb to all the tire stuff so thanks in advance for the help!

·
Registered
6,182 Posts
You will need a PRG level kit, minimum, and the pinch weld mod. Those rims are just like the Moto Metel 951 rims in that the 4.5" backspacing makes them stick out an inch more than stock, and since they are an inch and a half wider than the XE rims, they will be out 2.5" total. You'd have better luck on your XE rims, but still need the level kit, but much less trimming.

Btw the pinch weld mod looks easy.

Before I had the PRG 4" Performance Package, I had the DR coilovers set for around 2", which is the same as the level kit for a 4x4. I had/have the BFG AT KO tires in the LT285/70/17 (32.8" x 11.1" on our 17 x 7.5" OEM rims). If you look at the pic at this link you can see the wheel wells are filled up pretty good with even a 33. The size you're considering is a 34.5" diameter.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
so i would need more than a leveling kit to fit the 34.5?

my leveling kit gets here tomorrow too so i already know ill be able to fit 33's, but i like the look of the 35's better.

what if i went with the 17x8's? with the slimmer wheel would that help decrease the trimming amount a bit?

·
Registered
6,182 Posts
imaweirdo159 said:
so i would need more than a leveling kit to fit the 34.5?

my leveling kit gets here tomorrow too so i already know ill be able to fit 33's, but i like the look of the 35's better.

what if i went with the 17x8's? with the slimmer wheel would that help decrease the trimming amount a bit?