Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm not really sure when this started, as I drive with the windows up most of the year. Last October I started riding with my windows down and as I was driving down this rough paved road I heard this horrific noise coming from the front end.

I had just recently had tires and brakes done, so I took it back to the shop thinking that they had something to do with it, and after 4 hours of trying to diagnose, they had no answers. I don't want to take it into the dealer until I've tried everything myself as I am out of warranty (47,000 miles). So, I'm hoping some of you guys might have an idea of what I should look at.

I've crawled underneath there and see nothing. It's not the skid plate- I've ruled that out already. I had the tire shop check to make sure I had the right pads in there, and to check the calipers. They ensured me everything is fine. I was thinking struts, but both sides shot at the same time? ANY IDEAS?
  • Only occurs when I drive over chatter bumps at normal speed
  • No noise over speed bumps or other slow type bumps
  • If I drag the brakes slightly over the same bumps it disappears
  • The noise comes from either side, depends on which side of the road has the chatter bumps.

YouTube - Unknown front end noise on my 2008 Titan

·
Premium Member
141,094 Posts
Pretty sure that is the pads wallowing around in the caliper.
If they were too tight, you would be eating pads and rotors. Pads are supposed to float in there.
My truck was noticeable when it was new but haven't noticed it in years.

·
Premium Member
1,788 Posts
Do you have a leveling kit in the front? Sounds like the struts.

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
negative....no leveling kit.

I was thinking struts as well...but but started second guessing that thought...I would think one might go bad, but both at the same time? and only 42,000 miles when it started

·