Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reading all of the different posts on how to flush the radiator. I was wondering if I wanted to change the antifreeze do I need to drain and open all of the bolts on the engine block. After reading all of the different posts here is what I was thinking. Will this be acceptable.

I was going to set the dial to hot ( I think this is the AC/ heater knob in the truck)

Drain the fluid from the radiator and close cap. Replace with distilled water. Run the truck until it warms up.

Let cool (very important)

Do this two or three times until the fluid starts to look clean.

When the fluid is clean start replacing with the 50/50 mix.

Possibly do this two or three times to make sure I have enough antifreeze in the truck.

I am hoping the members on this site will let me know if this is acceptable way of changing the antifreeze. I am not a mechanic so I am not sure before I begin taking on this project.

Thanks everyone

·
Premium Member
17,244 Posts
The problem with not draining the block is that 50/50 mix is no longer 50/50 when mixed with remaining distilled water in the block. Will repeated drain & fill with 50-50 work? Yes, but the problem with repeated drain/fill of 50/50 mix is that you are wasting anti-freeze and you are supposed to properly dispose of drained anti-freeze, not just dump it down the drain or on the ground. So you are increasing the volume that you have to capture and haul to the recycling drop-off place.

If you have coolant in the overflow reservoir, you want to change that also.

For filling, I have one of these: Amazon.com: UView 550000 Airlift Cooling System Leak Checker and Airlock Purge Tool Kit: Automotive

Works great, no more screwing around trying to bleed air out of the system.

·
Registered
989 Posts