Nissan Titan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2,911 Posts
I'm not an expert but I'm guessing it is in part due to the much cooler (denser) air, thus requiring more fuel to maintain an optimum air/fuel ratio. Also the fact that all the fluids are likley thicker based upon the ambient temp until things warm up which in turn creates more drag upon moving parts. This hold true for just about any vehicle.

·
Registered
3,233 Posts
Also consider the longer idle times to defrost the windows of ice/snow.

·
Premium Member
141,094 Posts
And winter blended fuel.

·
Registered
761 Posts
Wierd, mine isn't from any of that, but more of Throttling it more coming out of icey turns :D :D :D :D

·
Registered
8,174 Posts
Wierd, mine isn't from any of that, but more of Throttling it more coming out of icey turns :D :D :D :D
Me too! Not to mention a remote start really kills it too.

·
Registered
286 Posts
The winter blended fuel has little to do with it. In most cases at least here in Canada most of our fuel has 10% ethanol year round as an oxygenator. Most places have banned MTBE that was used for years as it as a carcinogen. Ethanol now replaces it year round.

In most cases the fuel system changes the blend to be fairly rich to help warm up the engine quick. This is even true without a car starter. Also using defrost sometimes used the AC to dry out the air for better defogging.

As for your air pressure swap over to Nitrogen and you will not have as much of a problem as it's much more stable in low temps.

·
Registered
1,433 Posts
Yeah yeah, dirt trackin in the snow.

·
Registered
1,266 Posts
As stated before, its the winter blend in the vast majority of the areas. Cold air does make for a better running engine but extremely cold teperatures can cause the opposite effect on the engine.

·
Registered
9,557 Posts